These 4 Chicago Blackhawks Players Won the Art Ross Trophy

Daniel Ahasic
4 min readDec 6, 2022


Named in honor of a former National Hockey League (NHL) player, head coach, and general manager, the Art Ross Trophy is awarded annually by the NHL to the player with the most points in the regular season. First won by Elmer Lach of the Montreal Canadiens in 1948, the trophy has since been awarded to all-time-great players like Jean Beliveau, Gordie Howe, Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux, and Jaromir Jagr.

An Original Six team founded in 1926, the Chicago Blackhawks have had four players win the Art Ross Trophy.

Roy Conacher

A left winger from Toronto, Roy Conacher was the second player to win the Art Ross Trophy, which he did in 1949 after leading the league with 68 points (26 goals and 42 assists) in 60 regular season games. Conacher was also an All-Star for the first and only time in his career that season.

Conacher began his career with the Boston Bruins in 1938–39 and led the league with 26 goals as a rookie, finishing second in Calder Trophy voting. He played five seasons in Boston before he was traded to the Detroit Red Wings. Detroit then dealt Conacher to the Blackhawks for cash in 1947. He played five seasons in Chicago, where he had 227 points in 264 regular season games.

One of three brothers to have played in the NHL and been inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame (HHOF), his brother Charlie played on the iconic Kid Line for the Toronto Maple Leafs during the 1930s, while his brother Lionel was voted as the greatest Canadian male athlete of the first half of the 1900s. Roy died in 1984 and was posthumously inducted into the HHOF in 1998.

Bobby Hull

A three-time winner of the Art Ross Trophy, Bobby Hull first won the award with the Blackhawks in 1960. He led all players with 81 points (39 goals and 42 assists) in the 1959–60 regular season. Hull won again in 1962 and 1966, finishing those seasons with 84 and 97 points, respectively. He later recorded a career-best 107 points in the 1968–69 season, but was 19 points back of Art Ross winner Phil Esposito.

Inducted into the HHOF in 1983, Hull also won the Hart Trophy as the NHL MVP in 1965 and 1966. He won the Lady Byng Trophy in 1965 and was a 12-time NHL All-Star. He won the Stanley Cup with Chicago in 1961, recording 14 points in 12 playoff games.

Like Conacher, Hull has family ties in the NHL. His brother, Dennis, registered 640 points in 904 games through 13 seasons with the Blackhawks from 1964 to 1977. His son, Brett, won the Hart Trophy in 1991 and was inducted into the HHOF in 2009.

Stan Mikita

One of the best players in Blackhawks franchise history and the NHL, Stan Mikita won the Art Ross Trophy four times from 1964 to 1968. Including the three awards won by Hull, a Blackhawks player won the Art Ross in seven of nine seasons from 1960 to 1968. Mikita, who signed with the Blackhawks in the 1958–59 season, had a league-leading 89 points in the 1963–64 season. He won the award again with point totals of 87, 97, and 87. Mikita played his entire 22-year career in Chicago, where he recorded 1,467 points in 1,394 career regular season games.

Mikita is also a two-time Hart Trophy and Lady Byng winner. He won the Stanley Cup with the Blackhawks in 1961 and was inducted into the HHOF in 1983. He passed away at 78 years old in 2018. Executives and players within the Blackhawks organizations, as well as Chicago public officials, including Mayor Rahm Emanuel, expressed how much Mikita meant not only to the Blackhawks, but also the City of Chicago.

“Stan Mikita was a Chicago original. One of the greatest players ever to take the ice, this product of war-torn Czechoslovakia immigrated with his family to Canada before making his mark — and his home — in Chicago,” Emanuel said in a statement. “His fierce competitiveness and toughness belied a creative and innovative style that made him a fan favorite.”

Patrick Kane

A native of Buffalo, New York, Patrick Kane was selected first overall by the Blackhawks in the 2007 NHL Entry Draft. He won the Calder Trophy as the league’s best first-year player in 2008 after recording 72 points in 82 games. Kane won the Art Ross Trophy in 2016 after producing a league-best 106 points. He also won the Hart Trophy and Ted Lindsay Award that season.

Kane has won three Stanley Cups with the Blackhawks and, in 2013, the Conn Smythe Trophy. He had 19 points in 23 playoff games that year. He concluded his 15th season with the team in 2021–22, at which point he had 1,180 points in 1,107 career regular season games.



Daniel Ahasic

Daniel Ahasic is an experienced firefighter who has worked in the industry for more than two decades.